Cyclocross Magazine

Cyclocross Community, Forums, Classifieds, Photos and Videos

I always have a hard time coming up with enough volunteers for my events. I assume everyone has the same problem. Any unique ways to get volunteers?

Views: 25

Replies to This Discussion

either get them some shwag or free entry fees....offer racers free entry if their significant others will help out in some capacity.
Good luck!
elgee
We do this also, but with promoting 6 cyclocross races a year I think we burn out the volunteers we do get. One or two events in not bad, but come that 6th one...
Chris, we're somewhat in the same boat as you, with 5 'cross events and then a bunch of road events in the off season. We have recruited a paid staff over the years that we can rely upon for much of our heavy labor and activities. Some of it is family-based. I've been using family for 30 years, from the days when they would simply show up when I was still competing - and my children have grown up in the event world. I currently have my daughter as head of registration, my partner is my oldest son Alec, and sometimes youngest son Duncan (when he's in the country), my wife runs her own "Pilarcitos Bistro" at events that takes care of feeding the crew, and then one of my brothers and his 2 boys are backbones in the organization - and then we start luring in the friends of family. They have been with us for 6 years - we find that the continuity that an experienced paid staff brings is invaluable.

This is who we pay for services at our events

Registration staff (Greta Simpson +3 persons)
Timing/results (Tom Simonson)
Officials - CR Casey Kerrigan, Judges Ryan Fu, Barry Parks, Melanie Peterson and others
PA/Radios - Jeff Clark
Emporium - Michelle Luster (Merchandise)
Cookie - Becky Simpson
Operations Staff - Danield Ferguson, Josh MacDonald, Jim Simpson, Jasper Simpson, Ollie Simpson, Thomas Abbott, me and Alec and on rare occasons Duncan Simpson